Easier to move to self-hosted WordPress


The logo of the blogging software WordPress.
Image via Wikipedia

Have you started your blog on WordPress().com, and then thought about moving on to a self-hosted WordPress installation? The move gives you more freedom, but it also hurts your blog’s SEO rankings. Now, however, WordPress offers a solution: Offsite Redirect.

The new feature, which can be accessed in your dashboard under “Upgrades,” lets you permanently redirect your WordPress.com blog to another web address. The upgrade is not free, but it costs an affordable $12 per year.

Once you purchase the upgrade, you can manage your redirect under Upgrades -> Domains, where you can change the destination URL (or suspend the redirect) as you please. (Source: Mashable)

For those WordPress users that don’t self-host yet, what do you think of this move?

Powered by ScribeFire.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
About brvanlanen

Just a thirty-something guy currently hanging it up in the greater Green Bay area. My post-high school educational background is mainly in the Information Technology field. Specifically I have an A.A.S. in Computer Network Systems and a B.S. in Information Systems Security, both from ITT Technical Institute, in addition to A and MCDST certifications. In my free time I enjoy spending time with my family, cooking and sports. My Christian faith is also important to me as a Missouri-Synod Lutheran and all my children attend a Lutheran grade school. When it comes to political leanings I am a conservative first and foremost which you will discover rather quickly. As for sports I am a huge fan of the Green Bay Packers.

Posted on October 7, 2010, in Blogging, WordPress and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Easier to move to self-hosted WordPress.

Comments are closed.

