Hackers & top online targets ranked


Looks like hackers can earn points for hacking websites.

Dubbed Rank My Hack, the hacker community site assigns point values to hacks. “Welcome to RankMyHack.Com,” the site reads. “The worlds first elite hacker ranking system. Submit proof of your website hacks in exchange for Ranking Points that earn you a place on the leaderboard of legends. The bigger the site, the bigger the points.”

According to The New York Times, Rank My Hack was started by a computer science student in Great Britain, going by the name of “Solar.” The Times said he “acknowledged hacking illegally ‘in the past’ to develop his skills, but said he had never engaged in criminal acts like fraud.”

The Times, which first reported on Rank My Hack, said that so far 1,200 hacks have been submitted to the service for review. To get recognition for a hack, users must gain access to a site, and then plant some code on the server. Rank My Hack then checks for the code, and based on the hack’s difficulty and site’s popularity, points are assigned, the Times reported.

But is it really something new?

Chris Lytle, a security researcher at Veracode, isn’t all that impressed with Rank My Hack. In fact, Lytle told CNET in an interview today, Rank My Hack is just the latest way for hackers to do what they’ve been doing for years now–brag.

“This site is really nothing new,” Lytle said. “People have been bragging about their exploits on message boards, mailing lists, IRC channels, etc. for a long time. All that this site really brings to the party is an arbitrary scoring system.”

Also of interest is that it lists sites being targeted by hackers.

Rank My Hack also comes with a “bounties” page, allowing users to see which sites hackers can claim to target. However, when trying to access that page, the site says that users “must be logged in to view the point bounties” because of “high media coverage.”

Although Rank My Hack’s users are taking aim at sites, Lytle said he doesn’t believe that companies have anything to worry about from the site, since as he points out, “Rank My Hack wasn’t disclosing technical information about what the actual exploits were, just that an exploitable vulnerability existed.”

Of course one has to wonder why hackers would brag on a public site that anyone can view.  And that includes law enforcement.

Enhanced by Zemanta

 

About brvanlanen

Just a thirty-something guy currently hanging it up in the greater Green Bay area. My post-high school educational background is mainly in the Information Technology field. Specifically I have an A.A.S. in Computer Network Systems and a B.S. in Information Systems Security, both from ITT Technical Institute, in addition to A and MCDST certifications. In my free time I enjoy spending time with my family, cooking and sports. My Christian faith is also important to me as a Missouri-Synod Lutheran and all my children attend a Lutheran grade school. When it comes to political leanings I am a conservative first and foremost which you will discover rather quickly. As for sports I am a huge fan of the Green Bay Packers.

Posted on August 22, 2011, in Cybersecurity, Hacking, Internet, Security, vulnerability, Web and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Hackers & top online targets ranked.

Comments are closed.

