Why did Microsoft scrap the start button in Windows 8?


An interesting change:

Of all the confounding changes made in the latest Windows 8 consumer preview, few upset people quite as much as .

But what hasn’t been clear is why Microsoft removed the feature, which has been a central pillar of Windows for over a 15 years.

The answer might be obvious: People weren’t using it. In an interview with PCPro, Microsoft program manager Chaitanya Sareen said that as users began pinning more applications to the taskbar, start button usage took a major hit. Instead of going to Start menu to access applications, users were just clicking shortcuts. The taskbar was just too fast and convenient.

Find out what Microsoft put in it’s place:  Why did Microsoft scrap the start button in Windows 8? People weren’t using it | VentureBeat.

About brvanlanen

Just a thirty-something guy currently hanging it up in the greater Green Bay area. My post-high school educational background is mainly in the Information Technology field. Specifically I have an A.A.S. in Computer Network Systems and a B.S. in Information Systems Security, both from ITT Technical Institute, in addition to A and MCDST certifications. In my free time I enjoy spending time with my family, cooking and sports. My Christian faith is also important to me as a Missouri-Synod Lutheran and all my children attend a Lutheran grade school. When it comes to political leanings I am a conservative first and foremost which you will discover rather quickly. As for sports I am a huge fan of the Green Bay Packers.

Posted on June 28, 2012, in Microsoft, PC, Technology News, Windows and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Why did Microsoft scrap the start button in Windows 8?.

Comments are closed.

